Migration Manager and Checked out files

Can you clarify how Migration Manager handles checked out files and give any recommendations on the way these are best handled when doing a migration.

This will be for a 2007 to 2007 migration

Dave

  • Hi Dave,

    Migration Manager will copy the last document version and the target file will show up as checked in.The check out status and file changes that haven't been checked in are not maintained for checked out files. One can then use incremental migration to copy over changes to documents after users check them in post-migration. The recommendation would still be to minimize the number of checked out files prior to migration by asking users and site owners to commit their edits or revert checkouts.

    Hope this helps,

    Alex 

  • In reply to Alex Kirillov:

    Hello Alex! This means that Migration Manager cant keep "Full Fidelity" of the file during migration. I know DocAve from AvePoint maintains a file that is checked out in source will also be checked out in target when file is migrated. Why do you have this limitation in your Migration Manager?