Replication Job Disconnecting Users?

Our DR site is connected to our main site by fiber that we own. A tech at the remote site is claiming that the replication job is disconnecting all their users from a file server like clockwork daily during replication. Replication for us typically consists of a few GB moving for a few minutes..

Is this even possible? the transfer rate looks to be between 20 and 80 MB/s with an average of about 40. Data between 2 and 5 GB. Sounds like throwing darts at the board to me but I thought I would ask.