How to deal with hybrid identity in tenant-tenant migration?

Hey all, I'm a seasoned migration guy, but I'm pretty new to on-demand migration, and I've just been thrown in the deep end with very little time to get myself up to speed... Hoping the more experienced pros here could give me a few pointers to get me started... I'm doing a tenant-tenant migration in parent-subsidiary company scenario. The parent and the subsidiary have operated autonomously for many years, and each has their own hybrid AD-AAD implementation...

Each company has a separate AD forest on-prem with 2-way trust between. Each AD forest has an AADC sync into their respective tenants. The customer is proposing to migrate identity by excluding the on-prem user accounts from 1 AADC sync, and enabling it on the other (across the trust), and have tested that this works. However, I'm thinking that's not a good approach as we plan to use On-demand for their 365 workloads.. I'd like to understand conceptually how things will work in terms of hybrid identity... should I migrate everything via on-demand first, and then switch the AADC? - will I be able to make the other AADC match with the migrated user?

I would think that if they switch the Identity with their proposed approach. - the user objects will be DE-provisioned in the source tenant on the next sync... not a problem for Exchange as their mailboxes are all on-prem, but if a user is deprovisioned, won't their OneDrives also be deprovisioned, - and won't on-demand then not find them via discovery and so not be able to migrate any of their data?

My inclination is to leave AADC as-is (for now at least) - migrate the users to the new tenant with on-demand, migrate their Onedrives, Teams, etc.