Job failing on occasion with same error

Hello All,

I'm fairly new to Rapid Recovery, whist I have completed the free training provided on this site, i'm still new to real world scenarios and troubleshooting.  I have a server which is being protected which on occasion fails with the error Agent dropped the network connection during data transfer.  Since then error was reported at 08:38 yesterday, other transfers have run and have been successful.  However I have noticed transfer failing in the past which produce the same error.

I have checked the KB article and have run a Chkdsk but it reports no bad sectors on the drive.  I have also checked the system event log of the server for any VSS errors but there aren't any.  I checked the VSS writers and no errors are found there also.  The server is a virtual machine but is not part of an agentless installation.

I have not yet ran a disk defrag because I would rather this be a last resort.

Although it's not a serious issue, I would like to understand the error and cause better to try and prevent it in future.  Has anyone come across this before?  If there is any other information I can provide to help let me know.

Thank you.

Parents
  • Backups (not just RR) are fairly sensitive to networks drops so its possible the issue is exactly what is reported. A network drop

But with RR to troubleshoot you have to go over the logs. A lot of times something will fail and RR will just sit there till some random job timeout hits. Then report a network error/ timeout even though that had nothing to do with the initial failure. 

The logging in RR is not great in my opinion but there is no use trying to troubleshoot errors returned by jobs they are often to vague or misleading. Crack open the logs on BOTH the client and the Core and see what happened.

• Hi Emte,

Thank you for your advise.  I have opened up the log for the agent and have found this interesting debug: